Right or Privilege?

political updates & opportunities

Paging

I don’t know much about paging, but from what I’ve heard, you can ask any Senator or Representative to see if they will sponsor you as a page.  Is this correct?   Here is a link for more info on pages:

House of Representatives: http://www1.leg.wa.gov/House/PageInternProgram/  

Senate: http://www.leg.wa.gov/Senate/Administration/PageProgram/

I heard that, between the two, paging for the Senate is better, because you can use the elevators, have nice color suits (both are nice actually), and compared to a Representative page, you are “higher” then them and get the right of way….  Is this correct, or just rumors?

Have you ever been a page?  If so, tell us about it!  Was it worth it?  Fun?  Would you recommend doing it?  Give us your thoughts!

January 27, 2007 - Posted by | Politics

3 Comments »

  1. I got some information on it but i found out that you have to stay there for one to two weeks (don’t quote me on this but it is a long time) and you have to stay with a host family. Our family hasn’t done anything like this before so we decided not to do it, at least, not yet.

    (BTW, ask Anna at church about this- I know that she did it for Senator Bob Oke)

    I hope this helps!

    -Lampie

    Comment by Lampie | January 31, 2007 | Reply

  2. Actually, it’s just a week (5 work days) and you can drive there every morning, as long as you are there on time (I think 7:45am). You also get $35 a day, working from 7:45am to 6pm (I’m pretty sure).

    Comment by Betsy | February 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. Oh, that is better. I forgot that you get paid- that’s fun!

    And, I think you have to do some sort of school every day- at least an hour. They provide the classes, I think. You would learn about government and such. Correct me if I am wrong though . . .

    -L

    Comment by Lampie | February 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

