Right or Privilege?

political updates & opportunities

My Reaction to the Debate

Here’s my reaction to the values voter debate (see my previous post https://rightorprivilege.wordpress.com/2007/09/24/values-voter-debate/)

My reaction:

Overall, I was very impressed by Huckabee (He has what it takes to be President).  Keyes had really good answers too, but he sounded like a Southern Baptist preacher (not that I’m against them): really loud, shouting, and really making his point.  Brownback was okay, but he believes in giving amnesty to illegal immigrants (doesn’t believe that, if caught, they should be sent back. That would be like making rules for your kid, but if he breaks it, you say it’s okay and you don’t punish them) Tancredo, Hunter, and Cox had some good answers, but I didn’t agree all their position on issues.  Ron Paul is one whom I greatly disagreed with on almost all issues.

 

Unless I’m just overreacting, I’d like to respectfully bring to your attention that Ron Paul is not a candidate to consider.  He is

 

·        Against the Iraq war

·        If elected President he would immediately pull out our troops (… another Vietnam?),

·        Blamed America for 911 because we were occupying Saudi Arabian territory. 

He should be on the Democratic ticket… Almost all of his positions on issues go against what the other Republican candidates believe.  He continually emphasized how we need to go back to the constitution for answers… what about the Bible? (Barely ever mentioned God) Hmm….

When asked if he’d support a federal traditional marriage amendment, he voted no.  Here is Worldnet Daily’s report on what he said: “But Rep. Ron Paul of Texas said he didn’t see any need for another constitutional amendment. ‘I think we have fallen into a trap that we have to redefine marriage,’ Paul said. ‘Why don’t you just tell them, ‘Look it up in the dictionary to find out what marriage is?’’ He said the Defense of Marriage Act was good enough and if further regulations were necessary, ‘put it at the state level like the Constitution says.’ Paul explained getting marriage licenses only came about in recent history for health reasons. ‘True Christians,’ he said, ‘believe that marriage is a church function. It’s not a state function. I don’t think you need a license to get married.’  Wow… okay, I must not be a “true Christian” then… the way he defines it. : )

He said, quote, “We don’t legislate virtue”…. This mind-set would further our nation from God!  He did have a point though, he was saying how virtue should be the families job, not the legislatures.  But, if our culture is thinking relatively, we need something to refer back to a foundation, a standard.  Since many don’t use the Bible, we need it in our laws, and that’s why we must legislate virtue… for those who don’t have the Bible or some good moral law as their standard.  And, if we as Christian don’t legislate moral values, the culture will legislate their relative ones.  Concerning relativity, C.S. Lewis noted in Mere Christianity, “Whenever you find a man who says he does not believe in a real Right and Wrong, you will find the same man going back on this a moment later.  He may break his promise to you, but if you try breaking one to him he will be complaining ‘It’s not fair’ before you can say Jack Robinson.” (pg 19) …rabbit trail…Also, he barely mentioned God, and tacked Christianity on his closing statement, saying how it is a religion of peace (…really?  Old Testament? “Time for war and a time for peace”?), so we shouldn’t go to war unless it threatens our borders.

 What do you think?  Which candidate are you most impressed with so far?  Put your two bits in for the candidate you’re rooting for. 

September 27, 2007 - Posted by | Political Updates

8 Comments »

  1. Thank you for keeping us updated on Huckabee! (He is the one I want for president) I am glad to heart that he is getting more publicity- the more people know about him and know what he stands for (hopefully) the more will vote for him.

    -Amy

    Comment by Amy | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. I was also impressed with Huckabee, and disappointed (for lack of a better term) with Ron Paul…

    Keep the updates coming Betsy.

    Comment by Jairus | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hello Betsy,

    Comment by Jenny Crichton | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hello Betsy,

    I hope this comes through. I am not always computer savy! Anyway, I just wanted you to know I appreciate your blog! I really do!! As a homeschool mom with time spread thin, I appreciate the time you take to give your outlook. It helps me a lot!

    I am really hoping Mr. Huckabee makes it! The more I hear about him, the more I pray God would make a way for him to lead our country!

    Take care and God bless you,
    Mrs. Crichton

    Comment by Jenny Crichton | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. Huckabee’s good, but he won’t win the nomination. Not by a long-shot.

    Ron Paul is a joke of a candidate. He’s supposedly a favorite among the liberal internet geeks, who spend all their time voting in online polls and contemplating the latest conspiracy theory. He’s also a fav among dumb college students, I’ve noticed. You’ll see his bumper sticker next to “Free Tibet” and “Celebrate Diversity” on cars.

    I’m definitely vying for Fred Thompson. He has lots of experience, he knows what he’s talking about, and he’s actually a conservative. I think he actually has a chance at winning the nomination, too.

    Comment by Cydney | October 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. P.S. Apparently white supremacists are pro-Paul, too:

    http://soundpolitics.com/public/2007/10/ron_paul_attracting_wa_racists.html

    Comment by Cydney | October 16, 2007 | Reply

  7. Ya know, Betsy…I’ve been checking Huckabee out, and I am totally switching my support.

    Huckabee really DOES have what it takes to be president, and not only that, but he has what it takes to be a president with a democratic congress. He has the experience, the guts, the wits, and the communication skills to pull it off.

    The more I hear of him, the more I’m thinking he can actually win the nomination. He appeals to more than just conservatives. He really could be the president to unite the United States.

    Woohoo for “vertical politics”!!

    Oh, and Ron Paul should be on the Libertarian ticket. That’s what he is. I don’t know why he isn’t running third party…but then again, I hope he doesn’t drop out and run third party…it would take votes away from the Republican nominee.

    Comment by Cydney | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  8. I am very impressed with Huckabee- he seems like a TRUE Republican which I SO appreciate in this age of “blurring the distinction” between Democrats/Republicans. He isn’t afraid to speak about his beliefs and is able to deliver it in a persuasive, confident (yet not confident in an excessive way), and “leading” way.

    I agree with you, Betsy. Ron Paul isn’t the right canidate. He isn’t a true anything- neither Republican or Democrat. When a Republican canidate has to defend Republican values against a Republican canidate, you know something is a little fishy.

    Keep us posted!

    A

    Comment by Amy | November 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

