Right or Privilege?

political updates & opportunities

Who I’m rooting for… (I’ll do the “and why” part later)

I got an e-mail from a good friend of mine, and thought you’d be interested in reading my response. 

“Hi Betsy,
I wish I had a good answer to send you [about which candidate she was rooting for and why].  Even James Dobson decided to announce that he can’t endorse any candidate.  What are you hearing from your other friends?”
 

Well, it’s really hard, because all of the Republican candidates have something I don’t prefer about them.  When talking with people, they seem to feel the same way; no candidate really outshines the others.  But, since one of them will be nominated, I’d go for the lesser of 4 evils. : )  I’m going for Huckabee, because he seems to share my values and where I stand on issues more than any other candidate.  Unfortunately, with the results of Super Tuesday… it’s not looking as good as I hoped for Huckabee.  He’s in 3rd place out of 4 (McCain, Romney, and Ron Paul).  But, Super Tuesday isn’t the end of the Primary Elections.  There are still 18 states left!

 

 

CNN has a really helpful and informative webiste about the Presidential Race.  Go to http://www.cnn.com/ELECTION/2008/

February 6, 2008 - Posted by | Huckabee, Political Updates

1 Comment »

  1. For people who really want to inform themselves about economics so that they understand different candidates better and their positions, I suggest reading “Basic Economics” by Thomas Sowell. One of the biggest problems when it comes to understanding candidates and knowing which one to vote for is that people don’t understand economic principles and hence don’t realize that the Democrats and Republicans hold to similar views economically. Both hold to what economists call Keynesian ideas. They just express themselves differently.

    Huckabee’s idea to get rid of the Federal Personal Income tax (the tax being one of the ten planks of the Communist Manifesto) is probably the only economic plan that is not Keynesian. Which ever candidate gets elected (outside of Huckabee if he can actually get his tax plan passed) will continue to do to the economy what every other president has been doing. That being said, the biggest differences between candidates now are the moral issues. That is what I will be voting on and I hope that is what you all will be voting on as well.

    Comment by Jahothanan | February 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

