Right or Privilege?

political updates & opportunities

Special Feb. Election

For us Washingtonians who have special elections an get ballots with ONE initiative on it… here is my recommendation:

South Kitsap School District No. 402
Proposition No. 1 School Support Replacement Levy 

Vote NO

Not to sound cold hearted or sound like I don’t want to help out schools, but why throw more money into the government’s pot?

They’re already struggling to use the money they have…. do you really think this levy money is going to get to the schools?  Or do you think it’s going to disappear into the “Government funded programs money pot”?  You decide.  

Don’t just listen to me, think about it yourself….think about history and what has happened.  What was the purpose of the gas tax?  Improve our roads? I don’t know about you, but that tax has been around a year or so and I haven’t seen impressive improvements.  That’s just one example.

Where is my money going?  If you don’t know the answer to that question, then do you really want to be like, “Hey there government, here’s some more money for a good cause!”.  No!  If you don’t know where it’s going, you shouldn’t vote to give more.  Is it really going to be effective and really help schools?  If you don’t know, vote no.

Anyone done debate?  Apply what you learned.  Solvency? Inherency? Significance?  Engage your mind and see why you should vote yes or why you should vote no.  Back it up with reason and principal.

Thoughts anyone?

January 31, 2009 Posted by | Politics | 1 Comment

Just so you know…

Hey everyone,
You’ve probably been wondering why I haven’t posted in a while.  As you know, I’m really involved during the election season, and when I’m not, I’m serving in a teen ministry called TeenPact that teaches the basics of our government in a weeklong classes at state capitals across the nation.  I’ll be staffing some of these classes, so I’ll be traveling a lot in the next few months. Sorry for not being as active as I use to be.  I’ve turned more of my political focus to TeenPact, but don’t worry, I won’t completely abandon you.  One of my passions is to provide citizens with information so they can be well-informed voters, and hope to continue this through my blog.

When elections roll around, I’ll try to upload some informative and beneficial posts.  Feel free to contact me anytime with questions or thoughts, and I’ll get back to you.

Blessings,
The blogger 😀

 

P.S.
Political update (although some of it is quite obvious)

  • Barrack Obama is now our current President
  • Christine Gregoire is our re-elected Governor.  
  • Go to http://www.leg.wa.gov/legislature so you can follow current bills
  • Go to http://vote.wa.gov/Elections/WEI/?ElectionID=26 to see the election results from last year.  
  • Some of you may have different legislators now, so go to http://apps.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/Default.aspx and find out who they are.  
  • If you have kids from ages 8-19, I’d hightly encourage you to check out http://www.teenpact.com and seriously consider having them attend the WA state class.  If you’re interested, contact me and I’ll give you more info.

January 31, 2009 Posted by | Politics | 1 Comment